Bung King Crash Bar | Modifications

One of the biggest investments I could make to my Iron that has multiple purposes is this crash bar. I’m not ashamed to admit that since I’m short, I struggle with the weight of the bike and quite often have close calls. Whether I’m moving the bike around at slow speeds or figuring out how/where to park, sometimes I lean a little bit too much or slip and almost drop the bike.

To prevent anything from happening to the engine, I decided to invest in a crash bar. I’m not a fan of the traditional round crash bars (as seen below), so I started looking for something simple and sleek that doesn’t change the look of the bike too much.

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 11.46.53 PM
Source: Harley-Davidson.com
One of my friends from the Bay Area installed the Bung King crash bar on her Superlow 883, so I decided to buy it since it serves a dual purpose – crash bar AND highway bar. To my disappointment, my friend can’t reach the bar since she’s 5’2″, so I knew I wouldn’t be able to either. It’s okay though, because I’m going to add on some skateboard grip tape to help and eventually throw on some forward pegs.

The installation is pretty straight forward – uninstall 4 bolts that hold the wiring in place on the frame, and install the crash bar with the provided 6 bolts (2 in the front and 2 on each side).

Here’s a video:

tools 1
I purchased the “California” bar, but it also comes rounded.

Step 1: remove the 2 bolts on each side holding the wiring (you could zip tie this back on after you install the crash bar, but I left it alone since it felt secure enough.

tools 8

Step 2: install the crash bar in front first with 2 bolts, then maneuver it into place and bolt on the sides.

tools 4

Overall it took me less than 30 minutes to install. The only tricky part is getting it into place, so loosely bolt on everything before you tighten them completely. It’s also recommended to use loctite.

DSC01704ig this oneDSC01702cover image

I’ll wait to do a review on it, and see if I can purposefully drop the bike on the bar to test it out, but so far it’s a pretty sleek safety precaution. I’m too short to use it as a highway peg, but if you’re 5’4″ or taller, you should be able to comfortably reach it.

-Kim

Leave a Reply

