Pro tip: Always Wear Sunscreen! 

I recently posted about new earphones that I purchased to help hearing loss prevention while I ride, but I also want to share this post regarding skin and sunscreen.

I’ve been on multiple day trips where I ride all day – in direct sunlight. Not only do I feel dehydrated on these trips, my skin feels sunburnt as well. I can’t stress enough the importance of wearing sunscreen on a daily basis, especially when you’re out under the sun when you’re riding. 

3 hours of sun exposure

Meet Bill McElligott. He is a 69 year old delivery truck driver with 28 years of exposure to Ultraviolet A (UVA) rays through his truck window. As a result of his exposure, he has unilateral dermatoheliosis, where the left side of his face was exposed to the sun. 

Still think you don’t need sunscreen?

Driving has been linked to an increased risk of skin cancer due to sun exposure that does not filter UVA rays. 

As it applies to driving, so it should apply to riding. Does your helmet shield block out UVA rays? 

To be honest I don’t know if my Scorpion face shield filters UVA rays. Regardless, I always make it a habit to wear sunscreen whenever I ride, especially near my eyes since that is the most exposed area. If you’re like my boyfriend who doesn’t like to wear sunscreen because it gets in his eyes when he sweats, try to find a brand that works for you (maybe try one that is safe for infants/newborns). 

And this isn’t advice just for us women riders. Sunscreen should be incorporated into both men and women’s skin care routine, regardless if you ride. 

Your skin is the biggest organ in your body, so protect it! 


-Kim

Leave a Reply

