California Delta | Ride With Me

Another partly cloudy day with the rain forecasted to start in the evening, so I made a post on our Litas Bay Area Facebook page asking if anyone would join me for a ride. Two older women asked if I wanted a tour of the Delta, and even though it was an hour ride for me to meet them, I decided to give it a shot. We also planned to meet half way with two other women and ride up to the NorCalCycleSwap in Sacramento.

I wanted to get to them as fast as possible, so I left at 9am, fueled up, and rode ~60 miles on the highway to meet Carol and Margaret at McGuire Harley Davidson.

mcguire

Once Carol and Margaret arrived to the dealership, we headed East on highway 4 and then onto 160 towards the Delta. Margaret was on a Road King and Carol rode a beautiful Softail Deluxe. The bridge crossing the San Joaquin river was terrifying! We met up with Jeanne and Jaime at the intersection of 160 and 12, and continued through the Delta and into Sacramento for the cycle swap. Jeanne was on a sportster that she won in a contest, signed by an actor from the Sons of Anarchy show, and Jaime was on a Road King. We must have crossed over 4 small draw bridges on the delta, something I’ve never experienced before. Next time I ride up there, I’m definitely going to stop for a picture.

sac

We arrived at the cycle swap meet around 1pm, and most vendors were heading out. We walked around for a bit and then decided to head back on 160 for a late lunch. This time, Margaret led the way to Freeport Bar and Grill.

Processed with VSCO with f1 preset

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

From the restaurant, we all headed back through the delta. Jeanne and Jaime broke off at the intersection of 12 and 160 and I broke off from Carol and Margaret once we hit highway 4. I decided to take the back roads home instead of riding on the congested and boring highway.

back-home

I continued down Highway 4 and onto Vasco Road. This is my new favorite route mainly because you are riding through the hills covered in windmills. It started to drizzle on me while on that road, but once it turned into a normal street, I dried off and fueled up. I rode on Tesla road and through Sunol, and crossed over the Dumbarton Bridge until I reached home.

back-back-home

Side note: I thought I was going to fly off of the motorcycle while crossing the bridge. The wind was so intense I was being shoved back and forth in my lane. One of the scariest experiences I have ever felt while on the bike.

In total, I rode about ~300 miles on Sunday and got home just as it started raining in my area.

-Kim

Leave a Reply

