Flipping Your Mirrors | Modifications

Every single HD Iron 883 that I see online or on the road has flipped mirrors. Is this a style preference or do you actually get more visibility from it? Since I have pretty tall handlebars that cause blind spots for me, I decided to see what all the fuss is about.

Installation:

In order to flip the mirrors, you will need a 1/2 inch wrench to remove and reinstall the mirrors, as well as an L-wrench to loosen up the turn signal (on the brake lever side) and get it out of the way.

What we are going to do is take the mirror on the right side, flip it upside down and install it under the left handle bar, and take the mirror on the left side and flip it under and install it on the right handlebar. Here is a before and after:

before-front

 

after-2

The actual installation take ~5 minutes. Use the wrench to take off both mirrors, then install them upside down on the opposite handle bar.

I kept the mirrors a little loose so that when I sat on it, I could adjust them to my preference.

Here are more before and after images:

Visibility:

I took the bike around our cul-de-sac and it started raining, so I didn’t get to really see any differences in visibility. I’m going to hold off on making my final decision until I ride it on the highway. I do want to note that I spent more time adjusting the mirrors than actually installing them/taking them off, because they look so weird. I think it’s going to take me some time to get used to. I’ll update this section soon!

after-3

-Kim

 

Leave a Reply

