Street & Steel Wildcat Women’s Jacket | Review

 

I am the type of person who has to try on an item of clothing a million times before taking the plunge and purchasing. It was no different when I decided to purchase the Street & Steel Wildcat Women’s jacket from Cyclegear.

Initially I wanted a leather jacket, but I had a sub $200 budget. I checked out gear on Revzilla, but I needed to try on most to see how they fit. I have a specific body type (small on top, bigger in the middle) so I knew this was going to be tricky.

I bought the Street & Steel (Cyclegear’s house brand) Wildcat for about $200. Now you can find it on clearance/closeout for $149 (insert mad face here). But all in all, it’s a good jacket for most seasons (in California).

 

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

My specs:

  • Height: 5’2”
  • Weight: 135lbs
  • Bra size: 34B
  • Clothing size: Medium

 Jacket specs:

  • Wind, water and abrasion resistant M550 CORE
  • Corduroy lined cuffs and collar
  • VAX “Variable Air Exchange” ventilation system
  • Removable VAULT CE-Approved shoulder/elbow protection
  • Removable spine pad
  • LOOP’D pant attachment
  • Expansion zippers at hips

SC 4 Kim 2.jpg

Pro’s: The expansion zipper at the hips is a godsend if you have a muffin top like me and want to loosen the fitment in that area. There are vents on your wrists, back, and biceps as well.

Con’s: Like most jackets, this one is very box-y and bulky for someone with a petite top and fuller stomach area. I had to go up a size to account for my gut. The lining at the nape of the neck rubs on your skin and feels uncomfortable (almost like rug burn) after riding for over an hour. I find myself constantly pulling at it to relieve some of the pressure. The spine pad is also bulky, but hey that’s the price you pay for protection. Regardless of the ventilation, this jacket traps heat in so I find myself unzipping it almost completely whenever I ride in the summer. I also wear a sweatshirt or pullover whenever I ride in the early morning or at night, regardless of the season.

Final thoughts: I’d rather get a leather jacket after owning this one. As well as a jacket with solid shoulder/elbow protection (this one is VAULT CE-Approved but its foam). I love the color and overall style, but I want something that is more form fitting. This was a solid A for effort, but overall B for a jacket.

 

Fun fact: I’ve seen 2 other chicks on the road with the same jacket!

-Kim

Leave a Reply

