Dainese Motorshoe Air Boots | Review

 

As soon as I walked out of the D-Store in San Francisco, I rode these bad boys 2 and a half cold hours to Sacramento and thought, “I’ve made a $200 mistake.”

In the store, I thought these were great. They fit comfortably (size US 4.5/ EU 36), they didn’t have too much of an arch or thick heel, and I could easily walk in them around the shop. As soon as I sat on my bike however, I didn’t realize how much I bend my foot to shift (on my Honda Rebel). The first few minutes on the bike I had to keep looking down to make sure my foot was under the shifter peg, and throughout the long ride I kept looking down when I needed to shift. The top of my feet hurt and so did the back around my ankles, as I was trying to stretch them out and break them in. I loosened the laces towards the top to see if that would help, but they were still uncomfortable for that initial ride.


After that long ride to Sacramento, I took a break from riding due to the winter weather here in the Bay Area, and didn’t take them back out until the early Spring. To my surprise, they were much more comfortable the second time around.

They were much more stretched out from here on out and I got used to the feeling of having a REAL motorcycle boot with ankle protection while shifting, that now I don’t look down to make sure its under the peg while I shift. They still feel stiff walking around town, but I usually carry an extra pair of flats or Sperry’s in my saddlebag if I know I’m going to walk around more than usual. There is a tiny bit of wear on the top part of the left shoe from where I shift, but I think it has more to do with texture of the  suede micro-fibre material and not the integrity of the shoe. The bottom of the shoe has tons of grip, feeling sturdy on the pegs at rest as well as on the ground when I come to a stop. The laces are not too long that I have to worry about tucking the ends into the boot but they do easily come undone, so double knot them!

I recently rode to Sacramento again and these boots performed well under 90 degree temperatures. I paired these with a thick white Nike sock that covered my ankles, and my feet weren’t sweaty at all! I do still get that “tingly” feeling on my feet every now and then from the vibration of the motorcycle, but not enough to deter me from wearing these.

Compared to my old Sperry’s that I’ve been riding with, these are definitely an improvement, and much more protection! I’ll show a picture of the boots that I have used in the past to ride with, but none have been “official” riding boots like these.

I’ll continue to update this post as I upgrade to a different bike and see how they handle on a different set up as well as the general wear and tear that I notice.

∗Update∗

I just upgraded to a HD Iron 883 and these are still my go-to boots (mainly because I have no other boots lol). I will say, however, that shifting on a Harley takes more of an effort, so there’s more pressure and wear on the left boot that makes contact with the shifter peg. For my next pair, I think I’ll skip any with this suede material because it does wear down easily, and go with a leather boot.

*Update #2 – 3/1/2017*

I’m seeing a ton more wear on the left suede panel where I shift:

🎶These boots were made for shifting 🎶#dainesecrew

A post shared by Kim (@kimmarieherrera) on

The suede fabric is now tearing off little by little. Considering these were $200 boots, I’m disappointed they didn’t last longer than ~3500 miles. I’m no gear expert, but I don’t think you need to buy new boots every time you service your motorcycle. I checked back on Revzilla’s review of these boots, and Anthony did mention that he would have liked to see a leather panel on the suede area to prevent this from happening, but since there are few options for high top protective boots from Dainese for women, I didn’t really have much to choose from. I’m going to start the process of seeing what Dainese could do for me regarding the tearing, so I wouldn’t recommend these boots just because they are suede. I’m also not a fan of the shoe laces either because they can quickly get undone or they snag on the end of my foot peg. Other than that, I love the sole and grip these have, as well as the thin heel. I will be looking at leather boots in the future to prevent this from happening again.

Details:

  • Originally purchased November 25, 2015.
  • Price: $169.95.
  • Available in multiple colors (I purchased the black/white/pink ones)
  • Rigid inserts on ankles
  • Nylon insole
  • High-tenacity polyamide fabric
  • Suede Microfiber
  • Lace up closure
  • Certified to CE – Cat. II – 89/686/EEC
  • Polyurethane grip-control insert
  • Reinforced polyurethane heel structure
  • Shifter guard reinforcement
  • Rubber sole
  • Integrated reflective inserts

-Kim

 

Leave a Reply

